Just Because

Trying to put a few words together on very little sleep…

The Dirty Vagina Chronicles: Ms. Self-Destruct

with 4 comments

Georgia O’Keeffe, American 1887 – 1986
Jack-in-the-Pulpit No. IV, 1930

Do we all have a self-destructive side?

I have a whole self-destructive era. I started making out with many different guys – while dating, then engaged, then married. And I would vow to stop. Because of God, myself, my damned soul, or whatever other crap motivation I could come up with. But I never stopped. And I don’t know if it was a symptom of the relationship I was in or if it was because I was just too screwed up to keep myself faithful. At the time, it was probably a little bit of both. Somehow, with the help of a man and a child, my self-loathing and destructive self seemed to go away.

Recently, though, Ms. Self-Destruct has been rearing her ugly (yet exciting) head. Older, married man might have something to do with it. Don’t get me wrong. I will never sleep with him. I do not even think about sleeping with him now. However it bothers me that he would think that I would sleep with him. Because three years ago? I might have slept with him. I loathed myself that much. And three years ago, I did sleep with an older, married guy. YES, I was THAT skank. But now, I’m not the same person anymore. I’m a better, much nicer person. I believe in love, life and the pursuit of happiness. I know I can have genuine feelings for someone. I don’t want to have sex with just any-body.

But I’m feeling lonely and frustrated.

And scribe won’t return his phone calls.

And I think back to my smokin’, drinkin’, love lots of people days and I wonder if maybe I did have more fun back then. Actually, I know I did have more fun. But I didn’t like myself much back then. And I’m much more ok with who I am now. So I just have to redefine fun.

And scribe needs to call me back.

Written by justbecause81

July 27, 2008 at 8:36 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Smokin’ and drinkin’ and lovin’ are fun…for the chase. It’s a momentary thrill. But it is addicting.

    And well, loneliness is a temporary symptom. In a few weeks your life will be back to “normal” and you will be busy, busy, busy.

    Jen

    July 28, 2008 at 8:23 am

  2. THAT WAS YOU!? I thought it was the older married guy!!!

    scribe

    July 28, 2008 at 3:59 pm

  3. Scribe better get it together before I have to give him a phatty beat down! (I’m always trying to fight… LOL)

    constantrain

    July 29, 2008 at 10:08 am

  4. Maybe I like phatty beatdowns!!!

    scribecn

    July 29, 2008 at 2:17 pm


Leave a comment